Thread: Newbie Here

My Bikes
    In the market.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Newbie Here

Hi everybody. I'll be 49 in September and I hope I don't have to wait another year before being eligible to receive advice from this subforum. I'm about a week and a half out of knee surgery for torn meniscus and want to get into cycling, preferably mtb. A former runner, I don't have a bike or any gear, and I'd be interested in hearing any suggestions on what to get, what to stay away from, etc. For instance, I'm guessing I should go to a LBS and stay off CraigsList. Thanks for your input.

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think they'll let you in, but you could be a little more specific. MTB? What kind of terrain? How long of a ride? How much do you want to spend?
    If you're a total beginner, a lot of people will tell you to get a cheap bike and start riding, and a lot of things will become obvious.

My Bikes
    94 Giant ATX 760, 2001 Biachi Eros, 2005 Giant OCR2 Composite +
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't know much about MTBs but welcome to the group. You could have lied and told us you were actually 50 and we would never have known! Now, we will all look at you as a kid.
    Truth is stranger than reality.
    '96 Giant ATX 760 MTB
    '01 Bianchi Eros
    '05 Giant OCR Llimited Carbon Fiber + upgrades

My Bikes
    Bianchi Volpe '07
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)