Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sticker Shock

My Bikes
    1983 Trek 720; 1983 Trek 620; 1989 Gi Cannondale Bad Boy Ultra; LeMond Victoire; Bike Friday Pocket Rocket Pro
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Sticker Shock

After reading the recent Speedplay threads, I was convinced to buy one or another of the mid-to-higher-end road pedals. And then I saw the prices.

Yow!

I can be very creative at justifying nearly any bicycle-related purchase, and I'm not knocking the product, but I'm just in shock. I mean you could buy an awful lot of beer for the price two shoes and two pedals. Come to think of it, I bought a nice Italian-made road bike frame on Ebay for similar coin last year. Guess I'll just stick with the ol' SPD pedals and cheap mountain bike shoes I've been rolling with for the past five years or so. Besides, I reckon no shoes or pedals on earth would lift me from my status as a charter member of Team Dead Last.
    "Light it up, Popo." --Levi Leipheimer

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    High end shoes and pedals are outrageously priced. Perhaps PT Barnum was right.

should know better
    My Bikes
    '95 Klein Quantum, all DA'd out; 80's Japanese Summit Comp Pro TR--the dark and wet bike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I, too, recoil in horror at high end pedal and shoe prices, but I reached a point where I just couldn't hang with MTB shoes and SPD's any more. I'm running Nashbar Look knockoff pedals (<$50/pair) and Nike and Cannondale low to midrange shoes, also <$50/pair, bought from Craiglist (Nikes) and Nashbar using a 20% discount on top of an already discounted price. Way better than the MTB/SPD combo. Dunno why there aren't any Speedplay knockoffs--maybe they've got better lawyers.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jet Travis View Post