My name is Mike Childs, and I am a firefighter with La Porte (TX) Fire Department. I am also 50 years old. I am veteran participant in The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team In Training program. Team In Training participants pledge to train for a bicycle century ride, marathon, or triathlon to help raise money for leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin’s disease and myeloma research, as well as patient assistance programs.

I am training to ride in the Honolulu Century on September 28, 2008. This will be my second century ride as a Team In Training participant. However, I will be cycling for a reason much more important than the personal challenge of completing a 100 mile century ride. For the Fall 2008 season, I am riding in honor of Judy Dunn, the wife of Terry Dunn, a La Porte Fire Department career firefighter. Judy was diagnosed with lymphoma 10 years ago. She underwent treatment, including a stem cell transplant, and was in remission. Last year, Judy was again diagnosed with cancer; this time, she was diagnosed with a form of leukemia. She is currently undergoing her third round of radiation and chemotherapy while awaiting a donor for a bone marrow transfusion.

In the 20 years since its inception, Team In Training has raised over $850 million for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. For the Fall 2008 season, my goal is to raise $5900.00 for LLS. I am asking my fellow cyclists to help me meet that goal with a charitable contribution to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. By donating, you will be supporting The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s vital mission, which is to cure leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin’s disease and myeloma, and to improve the quality of life of patients and their families. Every 5 minutes, someone new is diagnosed with blood cancer; every 10 minutes, someone dies.