Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Campy 11 speed - Good Grief! Where will it end? (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/433718-campy-11-speed-good-grief-where-will-end.html)

cyclinfool 07-30-08 06:00 PM

Who needs gears when you have a fluid drive system

DnvrFox 07-30-08 06:11 PM

Eventually we will get to an electronically controlled infinite range belt driven transmission.

(Err . . . didn't the Model T have something similar)?

rocoach 07-30-08 09:00 PM

How many blades do you really NEED in your razor? I was very happy with two.

BSLeVan 07-31-08 07:48 AM

You can buy an automobile with 500 hp. Who needs 500 hp? Not many. Who wants 500 hp is another question all together. I didn't think there was any real advantage to a 10 speed over a 9 speed, until I started riding one. Yet, my Mt Bike runs an 8 speed just fine, thank you. Hell, all I really need is a single speed, but I want more. I have a 6 speed on the trainer and took it out for a road ride a few weeks ago. It felt so inferior to what's availalbe now. If it was the only bike I had or could afford, I'd be happy just to have it. For now, however, I'm happy with the 8, 9 & 10 speed set ups I have and feel fortunate to have 'em.

Dchiefransom 07-31-08 09:39 AM

We need the extra gearing so when our computers with cadence, HRMs, and GPS are all in synque, we can maintain our effort with only .000000000000000000000000000000001% change in heart rate by shifting.

stapfam 07-31-08 11:21 AM

Coming from an MTB background- I have always been happy with a gear cluster that has plenty of Big Gears. In 8 speed I can get a 34 but the rest of the plenty aren't there So 11/28 is the one I use for the hills. Just grind away in 22/28 for a long time.

So then came the 9 speed and an 11/32 or 12/34. Just gave me sensible ratios on those big cogs.