Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How not to behave in court

I think I have a pretty good judicial temperament. I've spent a goodly amount of time in court before difficult judges, so when I got my shot on the bench, I made sure to be polite, respectful to the lawyers and litigants, I make sure to let everyone have their say, and I work hard to be nice to everyone, even when they don't deserve it.

I know that coming to court is difficult, and the stuff I do (child support matters) makes people testy. Yesterday was a terrible day. The first fellow I had was a few thousand dollars behind in his support and blamed everyone (including me) but himself for it. I ended up doing something I have never done before - I threw him out of court. I got so fed up with him that I told him to go sit in the hall until later in the morning. In two later hearings during the day, I yelled at people to stop interrupting me (I hate being interrupted. Maybe that's why I like internet forums). The courtroom was hot, we were overscheduled, we had to send some folks home without a hearing because we were late, we almost worked through lunch and were late getting done. I felt crummy all day and came home, ate a sandwich, drank some wine, and went to bed.

Riding is a good way to relief stress, but when you don't feel good, wine works better.

tsl
    My Bikes
    1996 Litespeed Classic, 2006 Trek Portland, 2013 Ribble Winter/Audax
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, judge, but you sound like an ordinary crybaby to me.

The A/C isn't working, oh boo hoo.

That man has problems accepting responsibility, oh boo hoo.

My clerk overbooked, oh boo hoo.

The lawyers are longwinded and made me late, oh boo hoo.

People wouldn't let me finish prattling on, oh boo hoo.

Had you never been in a courtroom before when you ran for the job? Sounds like a pretty ordinary day.