User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hey guyz? Guyz? Wait up!! Siu Blue Wind's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Getting older and pushing it?

I work in a warehouse where I am one of the older ones. It involves heavy (up to 70lb) lifting and operation of heavy equipment. I'm used to doing physical things like this.....

BUT!

There is an office gal younger than I who was telling me that she was looking for a lunch time walking partner. She didn't like to go out alone and informally asked if I wanted to do a little power jaunt. She is a very hyper lady and warned me that she has to walk with a very fast pace short of jogging- nobody liked to go with her because of this. And she doesn't like to slow down because it robs her of her exercise for the day.

Taking this on as a challenge, I agreed to go. I don't know the exact distance but she said this would normally take her about 35 mins to do the loop. She tied on her jogging shoes (oh no, she's serious here!) and all I had were my steel toe boots. We stepped outside into the 93 degree heat and it was on.

I found myself keeping up with her, sometimes even a step or two ahead of her. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't exactly easy but it wasn't hard either. There were times that I felt myself pushing harder (of course I didn't want to ask her to slow down) but she was impressed that I was hanging on with even with my lack of proper footwear. Granted, there were times I was hating myself for agreeing to go in this heat but I knew I'd make it. I know that if I was not in my work attire it would be easier for me but somehow I felt that I could have done better.