Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Nube Question: Cycling Incline

I have a question for our experienced riders. I'm considering a 25 mile ride on Thursday with my riding club. The description says the route will have 740\' of climbing. I'm new to cycling and don't understand the numbering scheme and the severity. What is the correlation. Thanks

"This is a 20-25 mile route with approximately 740\' of climbing. It passes into Bourbon County and visits Mattoxtown, Hutchison, and Muir".

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This means that if you add up all the the ascents, large or small, long or short, in the 25-mile ride, it will total 740 feet of elevation change. 740 feet of climbing is nothing to sneeze at.

My Bikes
    Terraferma 650b, Mondonico SL and ELOS, Masi Gran Criterium, Trek 610, Breezer Liberty, Georgena Terry Classic
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by spanky1 View Post
    I have a question for our experienced riders. I'm considering a 25 mile ride on Thursday with my riding club. The description says the route will have 740\' of climbing. I'm new to cycling and don't understand the numbering scheme and the severity. What is the correlation. Thanks

"This is a 20-25 mile route with approximately 740\' of climbing. It passes into Bourbon County and visits Mattoxtown, Hutchison, and Muir".
    I don't know the terrain, but I think it means one of two things. First, 740 feet is the difference between the highest point and the lowest point, regardless of how many times the grade changes. OR, 740 feet is the sum of all the climbs that are on the route.

The first interpretation is the more intense ride (assuming no extreme slopes), since there are probably several ups and downs on the route. In this case the sum of all the ups would be greater than 740, resulting in more total work in climbing to complete the ride.

My Bikes