Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

*&^%##$^%^ bifocals

I'm 53 and have just submitted to getting bifocals. I've been putting it off for a good 5 years, prefering instead to take off my glasses to read or work up close. I can see fine up close but need glasses to see far away. I was constantly removing my glasses.
    I know it takes time to get used to bifocals, but I've been in them for over a month and still my eyes feel very strained. It feels like my eyes aren't working together and they're constantly trying to focus and adjust to each other. Is this normal? I'm thinking I need to go back to the eye doctor to get things checked out.
    I'm wondering; What is the doc's assistant doing when they tell you to look at their nose then they make marks on the lenses? I'm thinking maybe they screwed up when they did that. What if they mark one lens then you move your head slightly? Wouldn't that mess up what ever it is they are doing?
    I used to be able to see just fine with my single vision lenses, except up close. My eyes were always very comfortable. Now they're not.

tsl
    My Bikes
    1996 Litespeed Classic, 2006 Trek Portland, 2013 Ribble Winter/Audax
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been wearing bi-focals since I was 39, and tri-focals since I was 45. I strongly prefer lines over no-line. No-lines make me feel like I'm looking through a telescope--only a pinpoint is ever in focus.

I'm particularly sensitive to line position. When my frames are out-of-whack and my lines don't line up, I have trouble.

I also prefer my lines down further than most people. Opticians hate this. They always want to put them where they think they should be (even with the bottom of the iris) and that just drives me bonkers. I have to be *very* assertive (read: threaten to go elsewhere) in order to get them where I need them to be.