Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    2007 Tirreno Razza 2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

What's your top speed on a flat road?

From time to time I decide to determine my top speed on the bike. I try to have strict rules on getting that speed. The rules mean that I am on a flat surface with no decline at all, no wind and no drafting.

A couple of years ago when I started riding the top speed was 23 MPH. As I have been riding more the speed has come up a little at a time. This evening I finally broke 30 MPH. Actually, I set my MAX speed on the GPS as I knew it had been a couple months since my last self test and it was time for another. My best then was 29. Today the reading was 31.2 MPH. Breaking over the 30 MPH mark was so much fun.

Does anyone else occasionally test their speed? Do you have your own rules for your test run?
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I do intervals twice a week on a standard flat route. Top speed for me is 34 something, but I can't hold it long. It's not so much that the lungs won't go longer. Rather, I can't keep my legs spinning that fast and pushing that hard very long. I suppose if I had a higher gear, but not really interested in changing the set up I have now.
    Oh I used to be disgusted and now I try to be amused. But since their wings have got rusted, you know, the angels wanna wear my red shoes. But when they told me 'bout their side of the bargain, that's when I knew that I could not refuse. And I won't get any older, now the angels wanna wear my red shoes.

My Bikes
    Giant OCR T, Trek SC
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    23 or 24, if the moon is right, else about 20
    Hi 'o Silver away

My Bikes
    confidential infromation that I don't even share with my wife
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)