Thread: Components

My Bikes
    2009 Specialized Crosstrail Elite, 2008 Cannondale Six13 3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Components

I am new to bike shopping, Can anyone tell me if these are a decent set of components on a 700 dollar bike
    Components
    Component Group Road Mix
    Brakeset Alloy Linear Pull brakes, Specialized linear pull levers
    Shift Levers Shimano Deore Rapidfire
    Front Derailleur Shimano Deore
    Rear Derailleur Shimano Deore
    Crankset Sugino XD500TG w/chainguard, 26/36/48 teeth
    Pedals Composite
    Bottom Bracket FSA BB-7420, 122.5mm spindle
    BB Shell Width 68mm
    Rear Cogs 9-speed, 11 - 32 teeth
    Chain KMC X9

His Brain is Gone! Tom Bombadil's Avatar
    My Bikes
    RANS Stratus, Bridgestone CB-1, Trek 7600, Sun EZ-Rider AX, Fuji Absolute 1.0, Cayne Rambler 3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A couple of years ago you would have gotten Deore LX on a $700 bike, but this set is good for 2008 dollars.
    "Too often I would hear men boast of the miles covered that day, rarely of what they had seen." Louis L'Amour

There are two types of road bikers: bikers who are faster than me, and me. Bruce Cameron - Denver Post

My Bikes
    Simoncini, Gary Fisher, Specialized Tarmac
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Bombadil View Post
    A couple of years ago you would have gotten Deore LX on a $700 bike, but this set is good for 2008 dollars.
    Tom - we were just discussion this in another thread, here we go again, cheap no-name brakes & levers on a cheap bike. It may be OK for a $700 bike but in general it is throwing good money after bad. Spend a little more and get some decent components.
    "Of all the things I ever lost I miss my mind the most." Mark Twain
    If all you have is a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.

My Bikes