Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    2009 Specialized Crosstrail Elite, 2008 Cannondale Six13 3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Riding with the wife

Well as stated before I am new to cycling, well at least its been a few years since I was 15. Here are my questions to all the guys who have been riding a lot.
    1st My wife tried for years to get me to ride, I finally broke down and decided to get back into about 2 months ago.
    My concerns are I have a faster pace than my wife but I do not want to run away from her and leave her in the dust. I am afraid if I do she will loose interest and not continue.
    2nd because of this I have been riding behind her and encouraging her to push her pace a little. So far this seems to be working and when she gets on a climb it seems to give her incentive to make the climb. Her pace has picked up from an average of 6.2 mph our first ride 2 months ago to 9.6mph on a 20 miler sunday.
    My concern is we do not have anyone else to ride with since we live in a very rural area and I want to continue to push her pace like I have and hope that we get to an equal pace someday.

I can not tell you what my normal pace would be, all I can tell you is I do not feel pushed by the pace we have been travling and feel I could do more.
    what are your suggestions, Have any of you had this problem,

My Bikes
    1976 Apollo Mk IV, mid-'80s Miyata touring bike, mid-'80s Miyata mtn bike, 2007 Trek 6500 mtn bike, 2008 Trek Madone 5.2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you really want to push it and test your limits, ride solo. Then you will have the patience to ride with your wife and gently encourage her.