Specialized Sirrus LTD
    My Bikes
    Secialized Sirrus Ltd
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Gloves How many miles

I do much of my riding in the early mornings before it warms up and as a result my hands don't sweat that much. I have 1000 miles give or take on my Pearl Izumi padded gloves, and they are about done. In terms of miles what is a reasonable expectation for the life of a fingerless cycling glove. Is there any brand that is much better than the rest? Anyone try Assos? Thanks Hotwired in Milwaukee

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been using Louis Garneau Air Gel gloves for a few years and they are the best I've tried. I wash them every week and they have endured 1000s of miles. I had 2 pair of the PI and they quickly fell apart.

My Bikes
    Simoncini, Gary Fisher, Specialized Tarmac
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have several years on a pair of Performance gloves - they are doing fine. I wash them when they get icky. Bought a new pair of Giordanas but they are a little uncomfortable because they are a tad too big (they slip up and put pressure between my fingers).
    "Of all the things I ever lost I miss my mind the most." Mark Twain
    If all you have is a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.

tsl
    My Bikes
    '96 Litespeed Classic, '06 Trek Portland, '13 Ribble Winter/Audax
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My favorite gloves are a pair of unpadded PIs that are in their third season. I bought another pair this year just in case, but haven't needed them.

I also have some Specialized long finger gloves for cooler weather that three years old and in good shape except the velcro, and I own two pairs of Cannondale Windfront gloves for winter.

All my gloves get washed weekly (when used). None are padded.