Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Banned.
    My Bikes
    Lapierre CF Sensium 400. Jamis Ventura Sport. Trek 800. Giant Cypress.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The last steel bike.

I have been riding with a club for a few months now and I have noticed I havenít seen many steel bikes represented. We did have one or two for a while and one was a classic Waterford. (Nice looking bike) The last few times the guy with the Waterford has been riding his CF bike so we were down to one. We had one rather strong rider than has been riding an old Diamondback Road touring bike. Monday as we staged for our ride the diamondback rides cruised up on a brand new Specialized Tarmac Elite Compact. So as we pulled out of the parking lot there were 3 Giant OCR1s, 2 Lightspeeds, 3 Specialized , one Giant FCR and a Jamis. The most we have ever had is 15 so it isnít a big road club but still I was surprised after visiting many of these forums to see so few steel bikes. I havenít visited all of the club memberís homes to see what they have in their stable but I can say they do club rides on something other than steel. Why donít we see more steel bikes?

Bob

My Bikes
    RANS V3, RANS V-Rex, RANS Screamer
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Because there are a heck of a lot more non-steel bikes offered by manufacturers? And, because those CF, Alu, Ti bikes have a lot of good qualities?
    Why aren't you riding a steel bike? (assuming your profile is up to date)

I ride a steel recumbent - I wish it were Ti and significantly lighter.

His Brain is Gone! Tom Bombadil's Avatar
    My Bikes
    RANS Stratus, Bridgestone CB-1, Trek 7600, Sun EZ-Rider AX, Fuji Absolute 1.0, Cayne Rambler 3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)