Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    Waterford 1200, Raleigh Record converted to a single speed.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

When were you mature enough...?

I was reading a post in the recreation & family forum about a guy riding with his 11 year old son. It occured to me that I didn't start really riding until I was nearly 40. This year I did 2100 miles. My son has been lost to me since he got his driver's license and I stated that he hasn't matured enough to ride bicycle yet. Anyone else with similar experiences?

My Bikes
    GT Edge Titanium, Mercian Vincitore, Masi Gran Criterium, GT Zaskar, Hercules 3-Speed, KHS Flight Team
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I started riding in '68 (I was 18), so my sons (born in '78 and '81) grew up with a cycling fanatic father. Now that they're both grown, they both ride some, but still not as much as I do.

One has three kids, the other is in the Navy, so there are time limitations too. Still, they didn't get the gene passed down for "cycling fanatic." Not sure that "maturity" has anything to do with it!

Rick / OCRR

My Bikes
    Waterford 1200, Raleigh Record converted to a single speed.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Keep in mind that this was somewhat toungue in cheek. There is no emoticon for that!

My Bikes
    confidential infromation that I don't even share with my wife
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)