Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    Cervelo R3, Surly LHT, Miyata Triplecross setup for commuting, Miyata 914, Univega Sprint
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exercise induced stroke

Ok, the title was to get your attention, not necessarily based on facts.

Here's the deal. I've been riding seriously for three years. I ride 100-150 miles /week. I can ride 18 mph all day long. I can do 20-21 mph for quite a while when I am feeling good. I am 60 years old.

On Saturday, I went on a 50 mile ride on a beautiful day with a large local club. I got caught up riding with the A group. At mile 10, we were running 22+ mph pace line. At mile 15, we were doing 23-24 mph. I could feel myself melting down and dreaded moving into position when I would have to pull the line. That never came. My left side was cramping and I had to back off. I stopped for a rest, then picked up riding with 2 guys at 20 mph. I found myself weaving and having trouble keeping a straight line. I stopped at the 25 mile rest stop and ate a little and drank a little. I was drinking in a rhythm that always worked for me (drink water every 20 min, a Succeed electrolyte tablet every hour in cool weather).

Back on the road at mile 25, I slowed way down as I hit a fierce headwind. My bike mysteriously shifted and I looked down to discover my right hand was "laying there" and forced a shift. This happened three more times, and I knew I was done. I hailed the SAG wagon for the first time ever and asked to be taken in.

Back at the starting point, I found myself weaving around and repeatedly dropped my car keys from my right hand. I managed to get home and my wife demanded we call a doctor when she heard my voice slurring.

After two days of exhaustive tests, we now know I suffered a cerebral hemhorrage caused by blood pressure spike induced by extreme exercise stress.