Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

My Bikes
    '04 Trek 2300; '06 Bianchi Pista; '57 Maclean; '10 Scott CR1 Pro; 2005 Trek 2000 Tandem; '09 Comotion Macchiato Tandem; 199? Novara Road
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

It may seem silly, but

I've been riding for over 50 years with my saddle at the wrong height! I was taught in my youth that the way to measure the height was to sit on the saddle and adjust the height so that the balls of both feet touched the ground. In fact several years ago at not-so-LBS fitting, the height was measured in much the same way. A few days ago I tried the 109% of inseam method and boy does it make a difference to power to the pedals!! I had to raise each saddle by about 4cm. I've now applied this to all my bikes and the tandem and reckon I'm going 1-2mph faster for the same effort as before. With the tandem, I had to lower the saddle a cm or so from the 109%, as I still can't master mounting by pushing off and then climbing onto the saddle. Just thought this might be of interest. See

http://www.bikeradar.com/fitness/art...ht-right-14608

for more info.

My Bikes
    GT Edge Titanium, Mercian Vincitore, Masi Gran Criterium, GT Zaskar, Hercules 3-Speed, KHS Flight Team
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It does seem silly that in 50 years you wouldn't have had a coach, or a fellow rider, or a friend who was a bike rider . . . you know . . . Someone; point that out.

If I see something like that out on a ride I'll usually check with the rider to see if he needs an allen wrench to tighten up his seatpost clamp, or whatever. 50 years is a long time, so I'd think someone would have said something like, "Hey, Artmo, buddy, that seatpost is way too low!"

Guess not.

Rick / OCRR

My Bikes
    '04 Trek 2300; '06 Bianchi Pista; '57 Maclean; '10 Scott CR1 Pro; 2005 Trek 2000 Tandem; '09 Comotion Macchiato Tandem; 199? Novara Road
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)