User Tag List

My Bikes
    Trek 7700, C'dale R2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Clicking Sound solution.

I suffered a bike accident two weeks ago. A big cat and a Pace Line were the cause.
    Anyway, I took a beating which is healing slowly but more important the bike developed a clicking sound. this can seriously detract from your biking experience. I studied this noise very closely and it seemed to be every revolution of the crank but not for sure.
    There are two LBS in this area of Florida. One declined the opportunity to be of service and claimed ignorance. The other one is a Treck certified LBS. They replaced every suspect part and bearing and chain and cassette and derailleur. No dice. Clicking was still there.
    What is it?
    In desperation we pulled the Crank shaft and gears and replaced it.
    Problem solved. The shaft was bend very slightly.
    Expensive lesson.

Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't get why they had to change all those parts. They should have been able to tell where the sound was coming from closer than that, just by using their ears. I must be misunderstanding something?

"Think Outside the Cage"

My Bikes
    Fuji Absolute 4.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why did they replace all the parts? Sounds like a Volvo dealer I know. Just bumping up the bill for profit. I would comment to them and let them know you won't be back because of the questionable process that led to all the additional unnecessary part replacements. Trek certified indeed. hmmm....

My Bikes
    Pinarello Prince/Campy SR; Cervelo R3/Sram Red; Trek 5900/Duraace, Cervelo P2C/Duraace
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Will-sorry to hear about your fall. I hope you're healing up okay. At least you've now solved the darn clicking noise once and foreall. Can you imagine hearing that every day on one of your CC tours????