Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Mysterious Injury

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Mysterious Injury

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-09, 04:33 PM
Let's do a Century

Bikes: Cervelo R3 Disc, Pinarello Prince/Campy SR; Cervelo R3/Sram Red; Trek 5900/Duraace, Lynskey GR260 Ultegra

Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked 879 Times in 408 Posts
Mysterious Injury

Ahhhhh.....the aches of a 50+ year old.

Let's see. I've been playing golf regularly for almost 50 years. However I have not played in several weeks but took advantage of some decent weather yesterday and hit some range balls during lunch. As I was leaving the range I noticed my left knee was really sore and felt pretty stiff. Sure nuff....did something to tweak the knee. But I don't swing near as hard a Tiger.......how in the world could that have happened??? I'm sure the extra 5-6 pounds of winter weight didn't help any.

I hoped the knee would have felt better this morning but it was still very stiff. It was hurting so badly I could only manage about 85 miles on my bike. Last year this time it was my butt. Now it's my knee. I guess I better plan on my foot or ankle hurting next year this time.......Next time I suppose I'll go riding during lunch instead of hitting golf balls.
Old 01-24-09, 04:42 PM
feros ferio

Bikes: 1959 Capo Modell Campagnolo; 1960 Capo Sieger (2); 1962 Carlton Franco Suisse; 1970 Peugeot UO-8; 1982 Bianchi Campione d'Italia; 1988 Schwinn Project KOM-10;

Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked 1,322 Times in 835 Posts
Have you tried the usual "rest, ice, compression, elevation" treatment? Is ther eany swelling? You mention stiffness, but do you still have a full range of motion, albeit only during slow stretching?
Peugeot: 1970 UO-8, S/N 0010468