Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Downtube or stem shifters?

I'm just getting started and have been looking at EBay and CL for a bike. I would like to find a decent road or hybrid bike for less than $500. It seems that most of the bikes I see in this price range are older bikes with downtube shifters or stem shifters and my question is, do any of you ride a bike regularly with downtube or stem shifters and how do you like it? I'm concerned about moving my hands off the bars to shift.

My Bikes
    Salsa Casseroll
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have downtube or stem shifters, but I can't imagine that the learning curve is too, too steep...I managed to figure out how to grab my water bottle while pedaling.
    Sometimes nothing can be a real cool hand

My Bikes
    '04 Giant OCR2, '87 Schwinn World Sport F/G conversion, '85 Schwinn Super Le Tour, '92 Trek 820
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Downtube and stem shifters are less convenient to be sure, but the safety aspect is negligible, IMO. Just something to get used to. Us 50+ers who rode bikes back then all used them and we're still here!

Stem shifters were mainly found on lower-end bikes, so that might be a consideration. But don't rule out all bikes with stem shifters. The Schwinn World Sport in my signature had stem shifters and was in the "lower middle" of the product line then. But the 4130 cro-mo frame,while not "high end" is a nice ride. And although it is now a fixed gear the low-to middle of the road components worked well. And it was a steal too -- about $12 at a thrift shop!

If you think you will be buying an older bike you might want to hang out on the Classic and Vintage forum as well. A good quality steel frame will be a nice ride. Look for chrome moly a.k.a 'cro-mo' steel at a minimum - butted tubing preferred. Look for alloy rims, not steel.