Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Daily mileage increase for improvement

HI,
    I was wondering at what distance do most new riders really start to see improvement,
    I had been ridding in a group about 21 miles a day with a day off now and then.
    My new goal is to try and ride around 31 miles a day, I am finding it easier now to roll alittle faster I can now hold 19.6-20 for a couple miles and then coast down to 18.5 and back up again I find it easier to ride intervals alone so that also means I am pulling my own weight without drafting.
    I went about 7 miles at 20mph today very little wind but it was very easy my pulse was resonable around 135 versus 152 on previous weeks.
    I guess Iam getting better slowly. my age is 58Y/o and I have been ridding since July 2008.
    Doug
    My ride has a 11 mile loop in the ride so if i complete 2 laps its 22 miles plus the return and departure.

My Bikes
    GT Edge Titanium, Mercian Vincitore, Masi Gran Criterium, GT Zaskar, Hercules 3-Speed, KHS Flight Team
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Doug,

I am 58 as well, going on 59 in a month or so . . . and from what you've written, it seems like you're off to a good start for cycling in general. To get more specific with recommendations, however, we need to have some idea of your goals.

It's a different route if you want to be (for some examples) a Masters 55+ racer, a Long Distance rider, or even a triathlete. Of course, since you're just starting, you may not know, but do you have any idea(s) in what main direction (event wise) your cycling may be taking you?

Rick / OCRR

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thanks for the repsonse

HI,
    I guess my goal is to achieve a higher level of fitness, and any benafits that occur. not much improvement at the lower mileage but things started to happen over 30 miles per day.