Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Elmira>Taiwan>Elmira flatlander_48's Avatar
    My Bikes
    2005 Ritchey BreakAway (full Chorus 11), 2001 Gary Fisher Tassajara mountain bike (sold), 2004 Giant TRC 2 road bike (sold)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Clipless, Crank Bros. & Others...

From a posting here, I recently learned that Crank Bros. is discontinuing all road-related items. They will be focusing only on off-road equipment. I checked with the company personally and they confirmed this.

Anyway, my problem is this:
    I have been using Quattro's for close to 3 years and really like them. But, I am among that small number of people who (due to an arthritic condition) must unclip by rotating my heels Inwards. The late Sheldon Brown told me that he also did this. By design, there is nothing with the Crank Bros. pedals that prevents this. So, in looking forward to replacing the Quattros, what pedals on the market support an inward twist? I checked with SpeedPlay and theirs (Light Action, Zero, X Series) do not. The Frogs (off-road) can be modified, but it voids the warranty. Before I spend a lot of time trying to contact each manufacturer, wait for the response, phone calls, etc. does anyone know which pedals can be released by rotating inwards?
    2005 Ritchey BreakAway (steel)
    Full Campagnolo double compact drivetrain - Chorus 11sp
    (50, 34 & 12-29)
    Proton wheels
    Cateye CC-TR300TW V3
    Ritchey fork, stem, headset, bars and seatpost
    Fizik Gobi saddle and bar tape
    BeBop Pedals

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pedals last for years- so why not just buy a spare set of Quatros for future use?
    How long was I in the army? Five foot seven.

Spike Milligan