Council of the Elders billydonn's Avatar
    My Bikes
    1990 Schwinn Crosscut, 5 Lemonds
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Who Stands to Climb?

I've only been riding about eight months so please indulge a neophite. In the last couple weeks I suddenly decided it would be a good idea to try to stand up at certain times while going up hill. It felt funny at first but I started working on it and....Viola... it is great... I am a pro! Well, maybe not, but it sure seems to help conserve energy in certain situations like on a short steep hill or finishing up a longer hill. Also when you have mometum already and are pushing a tall gear up a brief slope.

My riding chum says it can't save any energy over sitting but I sure think he is wrong. How many of you stand to climb? When do you stand if you do? In what circumstances is it efficient? Please explain... I'm here to learn.

There is a time to resign oneself
    to old age and infirmity. You first.
    My Cycling Blogspot

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by billydonn View Post
    My riding chum says it can't save any energy over sitting but I sure think he is wrong. How many of you stand to climb? When do you stand if you do? In what circumstances is it efficient? Please explain... I'm here to learn.
    Sit for mile after mile up a stiff climb and I want a different position on the bike- Dead easy- just stand for 100 yards or so. Only thing is before you do- change up a gear or two. In fact I even stand for 100 yards every 10 miles or so on the flat bits to change the body position and give the butt a rest.

But short sharp slopes and instead of changing into the small ring- I will stand to get over the top.