Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Question on Riding Shoes

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Question on Riding Shoes

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-09, 12:07 PM

Bikes: Road

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question on Riding Shoes

I'm looking for some guidance and help on selecting a road riding shoe please.

I am in my mid 60's, 216 lbs and falling - My wife and I started riding again a few months ago after being off of a bike for a lot of years. We are working up on the miles at a reasonable pace. We ride about 18 to 30 miles every day the weather allows with a goal of riding a century sometime later this summer.

Many years ago I used clips on my pedals and would not have been without them. The Look pedal was just out and I got a pair - loved them - promptly fell on my butt - yes - in traffic - in down town San Diego. - That had to have been in the mid 80's - Do I need to say "embarrassed" - That's about when I let work get in the way of life and stopped riding.

When we started riding again recently, I bought us each a pair of Forte MTB shoes with Speed Play Frog pedals because I wanted to be able to walk around somewhat easier than in a regular road shoe with cleats. That has worked out really well but recently I have noticed that after about 15 to 20 miles, one or both of my feet have started tingling and getting very uncomfortable. I'm thinking I need to go to a road shoe with a much stiffer sole. As it turns out I really don't walk around that much - only at stops and then only for a few minutes although some of the time I am not on a hard surface. I may be walking on grass or on hard dirt.