Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    My Bikes
    2009 Chris Boedeker custom, 1988 Tommasini Prestige, 2007 Bill Davidson custom, 1985 Univega Gran Turismo; 1988 Specialized Stumpjumper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

An amazing new bike invention - clipless & cleatless pedals

Thought you all should know about these new-fangled pedals I started using on my commuter today....so far, so good.

First, some background. As well all know, all pedals originally had toe clips on them. That's what I started riding on my first "serious" bike, back in my 20's, along with some good 'ol Detto shoes.In the early 90's, I switched to clipless pedals -- first, some SPD's with Shimano shoes, then upgraded to SPD's with Sidis. However, I've always had some "hotfoot" problems, and a year ago I got a pair of Look Keos, and a new set of Sidi road shoes. So now I rotate among 5 pairs of shoes, and two styles of pedals across 4 bikes.

Still suffering from "hot foot" problems on longer rides, I decided I needed to find something to give my feet a break for the 60 to 100 miles a week I do commuting. Then I heard about this new invention - pedals that have no toe clips, and no cleats at all. I don't know what you call them, but some of them look like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Wellgo-Alloy-Q...5304189&sr=1-9

Or others like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Wellgo-Comfort...304249&sr=1-43

Though I got some of these:

http://www.amazon.com/MKS-Lambda-Pla...5304298&sr=1-1

An amazing thing about this new invention is that you can ride your bike with regular shoes! Imagine that -- you just jump on the bike with tennis shoes, and just pedal away. When you get to your destination, you can walk like a regular person, instead of waddling like a duck! I can't believe it took so long for them to invent a pedal that can be ridden without special cycling shoes.