User Tag List

My Bikes
    Allez Compact XXL :)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Heart Rate Info???

I have been riding for a couple of months, I bought one of those high tech gauges for speed and distance, I was also wanting to check my heartrate and pedal rate? Got all but my rpm's, it didn't have that on it. Here is question, I need some info in regard to my heart rate? What is good? normal? where should my goals be? As of right now, I rode 30 miles the other day (new personal best) mostly flat, average 14mph, heartrate between 125 and 135 most of time, my maximum heartrate was 163 a couple of weeks ago until I busted a hill standing up last week and jumped it to 183. My heartrate at present time just sitting here is around 65. How can I use this information to become a better cycler and get in better shape. Oh by the way I have lost 45lbs since April 13th, I am stoked. Any help? Thanks

tsl
    My Bikes
    '96 Litespeed Classic, '06 Trek Portland, '13 Ribble Winter/Audax
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Although it's geared towards runners rather than cyclists, there's a good primer here: http://www.brianmac.co.uk/hrm1.htm
    My two favorite things in life are libraries and bicycles. They both move people forward without wasting anything.
    The perfect day: Riding a bike to the library.—Peter Golkin

Lucky for me, I work at a library and bike to work.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    These are questions you may want to ask an exercise-oriented doc (not all are) rather than a bunch of people on a Web site. From here, without knowing your age, history or anything about you, it sounds fine--you've taken some steps to shape up and they seem to be paying off. Nothing you've mentioned sounds any obvious alarms, and your numbers look within the healthy range. Still, since you're over 50 and I'm not a cardiologist, you can safely ignore me.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)