Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    2009 Specialized Allez Double
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

My saddle and my LBS

I'm a newbie and bought my Specialize Allez on June 6. I've ridden 350 miles and my sit bones still hurt so I was thinking about a different seat. I was surprised when my LBS (who's been very helpful to me) suggested a gel saddle. Does this seem to be good advice? From what I've read on these forums, gel seats are not highly regarded. Not sure all this matters but I'm 64 years old, my longest ride has been 31.5 miles (today), my goals are to ride 65 miles around my birthday late next month and a Century in November. I'm sex feet, 200 lbs (down from 220 and aiming for 188).

Should I just gut it our with the saddle that came with the bike or is six weeks a good enough test? If it's time for a new one, is gel a good idea?

My Bikes
    confidential infromation that I don't even share with my wife
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Roubaix Expert came with a Toupe Gel seat. I have used it for periods of time then go back to "plan B" a Specialized Phenom saddle. It's a saddle designed for MTB's but works great for me on my road bike. I do keep the Toupe on my Cross bike which I will use as a backup bike. I just haven't been able to make the Toupe Gel an everyday saddle for me.
    oldschool areodynamic brick

My Bikes
    Specialized Allez Elite / Haro Extreme x6 Expert / Trek 4300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since you're near a Specialized dealer, go have a seat on their "ass-o-meter" (Real name) and make sure you're on the proper width saddle. You'll save yourself lots of time and money by finding out your sit bones width.

I ended up with a wider (155mm) Toupe saddle, but with less padding (versus the Alias I was using) and it's WAAYY more comfortable. Proper width trumps padding in my opinion.
    Tim
    ---------------------------------