Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   The Whole Family! (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/566642-whole-family.html)

Metric Man 07-26-09 07:53 AM

The Whole Family!

I started riding late summer of 2006 and was hooked right away. I've picked up several new bikes along the way and now have a N+3 stable of roads bikes and mountain bikes. Lately, for some reason, I have been approached by many friends and family about biking...how to get started, how far do you go, do you wear the tight spandex shorts? My son in-law has been hinting for some time he wants to start riding so while they were out visiting a few weeks ago I hooked him up with my old Trek 4300 to take back to Arizona with him and try riding before he makes a purchase. We spent an hour or so setting the seat height and getting the pedals that he liked best on it, making sure it was tuned up so it wouldn't give him any trouble etc. The Trek is a 19.5" and too big for me really, and he is an inch shorter than me so I knew it wasn't a perfect fit but it would give him an idea about riding. A few days later the questions start coming...about grips, seats, what size bike should I get? :D Hey cool!! Another one gets bitten, and he's got it good. Even in the AZ heat he's out riding every evening. :twitchy: I can tell he'll be on a road bike in 6 months...he's already got an eye for my Madone...had to smack that notion out of his head. :lol: