Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

3 months to 50 - What Bike?

I'm a total bike newbie and only 3 months shy of my 50th birthdy (I just received my first AARP mailing!). I have not been on a bike for over 20 years. I'm in pretty good shape and very active. I'm 5'10" and about 170 which is currently 5 lbs. over my normal weight. I was recently introduced to a number of bike trails in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park (Ohio/Erie Canal Trails) and I'm interested in riding the trails for fitness and fun.

I visited a local bike shop and they were suggesting either the Trek 7.3 or Trek 7300. Thye are priced about the same ($600). I'm willing to spend this much for a good bike, however I want to make sure that this type of bike would be good for the surfaces I will be riding. They are paved / crushed stone and in pretty good shape. Am I heading in the right direction? Can I get by with a $300 bike? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Jim

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Big problem in suggesting a bike for you as everyone has a different choice. Not knowing if you want a bike to ride or a bike to get serious with does not matter. The first bike you buy is only to tell you what your second bike will be. ---And the 3rd and the 4th-------

My suggestion would be to get to the LBS (Local bike shop) to get somewhere near the right size and to get it fitted for you. If it does not feel 100% comfortable on a test ride- then it is not the bike for you so get to the LBS and try several types of bike till you find the one that screams "Buy Me".