Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Purpose of cadence?

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Purpose of cadence?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-09, 08:25 PM

Bikes: Motobecane Sprint, Bianchi Infinito, Retrospec Fixie, Electra Verse

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Purpose of cadence?

I started riding in earnest 6 months ago to lose weight, improve my fitness, and get away from the stress of the office. In that time I've logged 3400+ miles, lost 23 pounds and feel incredibly better than I have for many years. I've upgraded some of my equipment too and this weekend installed a Cateye Strada DW cyclocomputer on my road bike. It displays cadence which the previous computer didn't do. How can I use this information to help me continue with my goal of better fitness?
Old 09-06-09, 08:48 PM
the dream shall never die

Bikes: Cannondale RT3000 Tandem Cannondale R900 CAAD 8 Campy

Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 17 Times in 8 Posts
A smooth, spinning cadence, 80-100 rpm is more efficient than slogging at the typical lower rates. I am assuming that your knees are as old as you, , so a quicker cadence is also better for the knees, especially when climbing.

IMO, these are the two important reasons for us "non-racer types" to pay attention to cadence.
Also see: https://www.bikeforums.net/road-cycling/572819-importance-cadence.html

YRPMMV,
Cheers,
Geary

Last edited by galyons; 09-06-09 at 08:52 PM.
Old 09-06-09, 08:57 PM

Bikes: Trek 7700, C'dale R2000

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You will get advise to study much information available in books and online.