Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

About to hit the big five-oh

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-09, 12:41 AM
rocker

Bikes: 1977 Schwinn Sportabout bicycle, 1979 Silver Anniversary Fender Stratocaster guitar

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey Geezers! Okay, I'm only forty-nine years old until next summer, but I figured I might as well dip my toe in the water here. I've been riding the same Schwinn ten-speed since the early 1980s, and, here's the kicker, most of the many thousands of miles have been "no hands" while simultaneously playing a Fender Stratocaster guitar.

The Schwinn Sportabout (a "Varsinental" type) is not a light machine. I just weighed mine last week and it is forty-three pounds as equipped with a Schwinn U-lock, two headlights, two tail lights and a Schwinn Approved rack over the rear wheel. My own weight has topped two hundred pounds before, and for some years until this year was hovering between 190 and 200 pounds pretty consistently. I've ridden my bicycle a lot more this year (partly because my car is broken!) and I'm down to about 185 pounds now.

The great news is that sometime in the next week or so my vintage Schwinn is going to have some major improvements made to it. The original steel handlebar and stem will be replaced by an aluminum one from a different model Schwinn of similar vintage, and I am having the LBS lace vintage Schwinn Approved hubs to modern aluminum rims for lighter and stronger wheels. I am also upgrading to Kool-Stop "salmon" brake pads for the new rims.

I don't know if any of this will be enough to make up for the fact that I am older when it comes to riding up hills, but it's gotta help