Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Getting new trainer.

I've never used trainer before,but have to use it as my emphysema is worse in winter when exerting myself.My daughter is giving me one she doesnt use,not sure of brand.LBS guy was telling me they chew up tires real bad and was trying to sell me a $65 trainer tire.I could probably buy quite a few cheap crappy tires for that price.Is what he says true?I will probably use it 30-45 mins.every other day if that helps to give me a rough idea how many tires i would use up in 4-5 month period.You guys are way more knowledgable than me and always give great answers to some times difficult questions when called upon,so have at it please.And thankyou in advance.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I never heard of a tire that is trainer specific. All I use is an old tire that I no longer want to use on the road. I certainly wouldn't pay for a tire if I had one laying around. I keep a bike on the trainer for the winter so it's not an issue having a worn tire on the trainer as it won't be used on the road.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BikeWNC View Post
    I never heard of a tire that is trainer specific. All I use is an old tire that I no longer want to use on the road. I certainly wouldn't pay for a tire if I had one laying around. I keep a bike on the trainer for the winter so it's not an issue having a worn tire on the trainer as it won't be used on the road.
    This tire he showed me had the tread coated or something with a bright blue color and it was extremely hard,cant use it on street for shure looked like a plastic almost.,he was saying i would go through 1 tire a month at least?if not more.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)