Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Tire Choice for Rail trails

I'm building up a Specialized Tricrosss for rail trail/winter road use. What would be a good all purpose tire in the 700 x 32 range?

My Bikes
    Rans Enduro Sport, Hase Kettweisel Tandem, Merin Bear Valley beater bike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Everybody seems to have their own preference in tire brands.

I've been buying all Continentals for the last several years and, until they make me mad for some reason, I suppose I'll continue.

The Continental tire in the size you mentioned is the Contact or Contact Security. Both have a puncture resistant strip, the Security has reflective sidewalls.

My Bikes
    Trek 7700, C'dale R2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by livestrong2 View Post
    I'm building up a Specialized Tricrosss for rail trail/winter road use. What would be a good all purpose tire in the 700 x 32 range?
    Paved or not paved?

My Bikes
    Scott Road, Jamis, Tricross,
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use the Schwalbe Marathon Supreme on my Tricross. Expensive, but they last forever, roll fast, and they are bombproof.

http://www.schwalbetires.com/marathon_supreme
    http://www.rivbike.com/products/list...s#product=none
    You go where you look

His Brain is Gone! Tom Bombadil's Avatar
    My Bikes
    RANS Stratus, Bridgestone CB-1, Trek 7600, Sun EZ-Rider AX, Fuji Absolute 1.0, Cayne Rambler 3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use a Continental Contact on one of my bikes. On a narrow rim, the 700x32 Contact only measures around 29mm.

The Panaracer Pasela TG is another good choice. As would be the Schwalbe Marathon and Specialized Crossroads Armadillo.
    "Too often I would hear men boast of the miles covered that day, rarely of what they had seen." Louis L'Amour