Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Banned.
    My Bikes
    Lapierre CF Sensium 400. Jamis Ventura Sport. Trek 800. Giant Cypress.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Was it a good idea?

I haven't been a re-born cyclist for that long but I have been enjoying the experience for the last two years. I have been invited by one of my cycling friends; some will say that it is a challenge, to join him in a race next February on one of our local military bases. Six Months ago I just laughed it off because I am anything but one of the typical A group riders in our group. I started considering it about two months ago and now have more or less committed to giving it a try.
    The course is only 32 miles with one or two climbs of 8 percent for a mile each. Nothing I havenít done on a normal group ride. I only wonder if I am starting this too late. Has anyone else tried racing this late in life?

My Bikes
    Too Many
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I started racing in 2007 at age 57 doing TTs on the tandem with my wife. In 2008, I did individual TTs and a couple of road races and started track racing. This year I have done over 25 races including a stage race. YMMV.
    Last edited by Hermes; 12-16-09 at 07:35 AM.

My Bikes
    confidential infromation that I don't even share with my wife
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I started racing at age 54 doing two local "citizen races", which I was woefully unprepared for. I got the bug to continue racing and decided to begin training and preparing for racing by doing things off the bike like loosing weight, working on the core muscles and making decisions in daily life that would enable me to ride more and faster. Over the past two seasons I really enjoyed the competition of racing while the improvements to my riding were a secondary benefit which is very nice.