Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Bikes
    2007 Tirreno Razza 2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Eating GU energy gel during a ride

The energy gel packets, GU, or whatever brand, help me during a longer road ride, and especially on a century. However, handling the packets while riding are a problem for me.

I reach into a back pocket to pull out a packet. I use my teeth to tear off the top. I then must hold the top between my fingers so that I do not drop it. Then I squeeze out the contents into my mouth.

When complete I have a somewhat messy packet and the top to dispose of. I normally stuff them into anther back pocket for I do not want to liter the road.

The reaching for the packet, opening it with my teeth and the messy remains need to be handled better. What is a better plan?
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but listen you can get energy gels with a screw cap maxim is one there very good.i can see how you would have problems .thr the screw cap .

My Bikes
    '03 Trek 7500, '08 Madone 4.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Someone makes a "solid" form of energy gel. They're about the consistency of a real soft jujube and are much cleaner to handle.

My Bikes
    Pinarello Prince/Campy SR; Cervelo R3/Sram Red; Trek 5900/Duraace, Cervelo P2C/Duraace
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)