Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

N+1 with Poplock and Disc brakes

I had a FS Proflex and a Coyote Mtb with a Judy SL fork in the nineties but they were too much hassle to maintain IMO. (and I really disliked the pogoing of the Judy). I thought my days with Mtb's with suspension were over but I have had a lot of fun with a couple of rigid Mtb's this last year so when I saw this used Wheeler with a Reba SL Fork for sale yesterday I phoned my wife and explained that I needed yet another bike. I thought it was for next summer but when I got it home I decided to keep my Nokian Freddies Lite on the commuter and bought some Schwalbe Ice Spiker Pro for this one. Took it for my regular forestroad ride today.It snowed and was around 10 Fahrenheit so I really got to test it.. The Icespiker Pro's are great tires and the bike was stiff and nimble. Dualcontrol shifters will take some time to get used to. I am new to Discbrakes and a bit scared of the extra maintenance, but they sure are the best stoppers I have had .

6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England
    My Bikes
    Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Disc brakes require less maintenance than rim brakes but they do take a bit of care in setting up. Once that is done it is fit and forget- except for pad and fluid changes. Be warned though- those pads will look very thin- even when new. Good idea to carry a spare set in the bike shed though as they can wear out very quickly on a muddy ride.

Don't know wheeler bikes but is looks well equipped- So when are you going to get it Muddy? Or was these pics taken before the cold ride?
    How long was I in the army? Five foot seven.

Spike Milligan

tsl
    My Bikes
    '96 Litespeed Classic, '06 Trek Portland, '13 Ribble Winter/Audax
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged