Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Test rode a bent.........

..but didn't like it. What I immediately realized is that the normal DF bikes I've been riding all my life "give me wings" so to speak. They greatly increase my mobility and freedom. The bent didn't give me that feeling. I noticed it from the get-go. Has anyone else noticed this, and were you able to overcome it?
    The reason this is an issue is that I'm a welder and a bent seems like it would be a good project. Guess I can sell it if I can't get to liking it.
    Last edited by sknhgy; 03-17-10 at 09:05 AM.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For me the experience was just the opposite. My DF bikes limited my sense of freedom as I have not aged gracefully, don't keep in great physical condition, and do suffer from some arthritis in my wrists. My cycling adventures all ended too quickly as one part of me or another became very sore.

The recumbents took the physical misery away and all that was left was the pure joy of riding. I still ride DF bikes, but my most enjoyable rides are on my recumbents.

You didn't mention which recumbent you test rode. Bear in mind that all 'bents are not created equal. One style may be extremely tedious to ride, especialy for a beginner, while another style may deliver unbelievable happiness..
    Last edited by cranky old dude; 03-17-10 at 07:35 AM. Reason: speling

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)