Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Special Thread For 50+yo Bicyclists (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/63378-special-thread-50-yo-bicyclists.html)

MikeSimone 04-30-17 09:26 PM

New to BikeForums and 50+

Greetings from Virginia! (Below is my first post to BikeForums last week.)

I'm Mike Simone, age 64, and just joined BikeForums this morning. I noticed a great thread from 2004-2011 about Rolls bicycles, and I will post a good bit of information to that thread (if it is still open) about the top road racing "Strada Professionisti" frame that Rolls had made in Italy in the early 1970s. Our collegiate team at West Point used them 1973-1975, and for a few years more after I graduated in 1975. I still have mine and love riding it, although I converted it to a fixed-gear 16 years ago. I have photos of the original bike, the reconditioned Rolls, and information I'd be glad to share about the dozen or so Campy-equipped Rolls that we obtained through Cyclesport in Park Ridge, NJ, and the early days of collegiate racing that the West Point team was active in promoting on the East Coast in in the mid-seventies.

More to follow soon,

Mike

caloso 05-03-17 12:11 PM

May 3, 1967

Hey, today is my birthday and I am finally eligible to join this august group. I've been looking forward to it. I usually hang out in the 33, Road, and Commuting forums.

Please tell us your age: 50 years, 0 days.

1. What type of bikes do 50+ folks ride?

Road, mostly.
2015 Specialized Tarmac
2012 Ridley Excalibur
1986 Gazelle Champion Mondial

I am in the process of building up an Ellworth Roots CX bike and I have a 1990(?) Specialized Rock Hopper utility/beater.

2. Do you take any special supplements/vitamins/minerals as you have grown older?
Not really. I take magnesium in the summer to deal with cramps, but nothing else.

3. How much do you feel you have "slowed down" if any?