Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Back Pain Only the Morning After?

I'm sixty with some L4-5 problems that I can generally keep under control with exercise.

I've been riding for many years but am now experiencing a lot of pain the day after I ride. I feel NO discomfort while riding but the following morning I am so stiff and sore it is all I can to to get out of bed and put my pants on. Interestingly, even in that condition....I can still go out and ride without pain.

Unfortunately, if I stop cycling for a week or so the pain diminishes, so I know riding is the cause.

My stem is raised and I try to do my core exercises...but I guess I'm perplexed as to why the pain only appears the day after I ride?

Thanks.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you doing flexibility/stretching exercises too?
    A conclusion is the place where you got tired of thinking. - S. Wright

Galveston County Texas 10 Wheels's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    68 y/o here, found that the forward lean position on a road, race bike has made my L4-L5 pain go away.
    You may just be sitting up too straight.
    [SIZE=1][B]What I like about Texas[/B]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGukLuXzH1E

Set F1re To The Ra1n ( NY Night Rain Ride)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7jfcWEkSrI

My Bikes
    2012 Motobecane Ti SRAM Red/2008 Trek Madone SRAM Force
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't suffer any discomfort while riding...but I have always woken up with soreness in the lower back, compressed discs and some arthritis creeping in. I have an inversion table I use to stretch on first thing, then about 35-40 inverted crunches, and the rest of the day is fine. When we go somewhere for the weekend and have to leave the table behind...I really feel it. Of course, YMMV