Thread: Tinkering

My Bikes
    2007 Tirreno Razza 2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Tinkering

It seems I am always tinkering with my bicycles. No, I am not a mechanic and do not have the ability to be a mechanic, but I do work -- or tinker -- on my bikes. I can change a cassette, clean a chain, change tires, clean the bike, adjust this or that.

What I have noticed is that the more expensive my bikes have become it seems they need more tinkering. Basically what this means is that a more finely tuned bike requires more maintenance than a "workhorse" type bike.
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

My Bikes
    Rans Enduro Sport, Hase Kettweisel Tandem, Merin Bear Valley beater bike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yup, I do that too.

Yesterday's tweak involved a folding handlebar riser for my recumbent. It had a set screw to adjust it's angle. Unfortunately, I'd start off on a ride just fine, but the angle would change as I was riding and I'd eventually hit my knees on my thumbs or on the shifters. My solution was to install a lock nut on the adjusting screw. I rode 38 miles today and it worked fine.

My next project is finding a way to conveniently hold my camelback mouthpiece.

My Bikes
    RANS V3, RANS V-Rex, RANS Screamer
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BikeArkansas View Post
    It seems I am always tinkering with my bicycles. No, I am not a mechanic and do not have the ability to be a mechanic, but I do work -- or tinker -- on my bikes. I can change a cassette, clean a chain, change tires, clean the bike, adjust this or that.

What I have noticed is that the more expensive my bikes have become it seems they need more tinkering. Basically what this means is that a more finely tuned bike requires more maintenance than a "workhorse" type bike.