Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Comfort Saddle for the older rear end

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 09-25-04, 08:27 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I admit that I am a newbie, but have gotten to the piont where I am riding enough to want a more confortable saddle. Now I have a Townie 3 with the original seat. That was OK until I started riding more than 5 miles a day. At 55 I am not interested in racing, just enjoying my bike, decked out with a handle bar radio, riding in fairly safe (few cars) area. No springs on the bike and it has a semi recumbent ridng style. Was thinking of "The Seat"by Ergo, or a comfort cloud 9 with coils, any comments (would really like an Ergo with coils but have not seen them).
Roger
Old 09-25-04, 09:50 PM

Bikes: Not enough

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I've gone through quite a few saddles till I discovered what I like. Buy a few on ebay and resell them if they don't work out. Remember, except for brooks, your rear has to get used to the saddle as there is no break-in of synthetics.
Old 09-26-04, 05:25 AM
Banned.

Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
You might want to check in the "recumbent" forum about seats especially designed for a bent.

I ride diamond frames, and use the stock saddles with no problem - yes those little tiny things that look as if they could kill you.

They don't! They are designed to specifically support your Ischial Tuberosities (your "sit bones"), and reduce rubbing and chafing. "Well padded seats" tend to INCREASE discomfort on longer rides.

But I think the 'bent seats are an entirely different matter!

I am curious as to what age has to do with a saddle. Comfort is comfort, no matter the age, and a comfortable (not necessarily large or padded) saddle is a comfortable saddle!