Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Disc or V Brakes ??

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Disc or V Brakes ??

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-10, 03:59 AM
ITT

Bikes: Litespeed

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Disc or V Brakes ??

My wife and I are looking at getting a couple of new Specialized Cross trail bikes for trail riding. Most of the trails we ride are paved. We both have experience with V Brakes but the bikes we are looking at come with ether Disc brakes or the V brakes. My wife likes the color of the bike with Disc brakes, Ha,Ha,Ha. I have no experience with Disc brakes. Any advantages or disadvantages with Disc over V brakes?
Old 10-26-10, 05:58 AM

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Quoted: 943 Post(s)
Liked 658 Times in 371 Posts
Originally Posted by ITT
My wife and I are looking at getting a couple of new Specialized Cross trail bikes for trail riding. Most of the trails we ride are paved. We both have experience with V Brakes but the bikes we are looking at come with ether Disc brakes or the V brakes. My wife likes the color of the bike with Disc brakes, Ha,Ha,Ha. I have no experience with Disc brakes. Any advantages or disadvantages with Disc over V brakes?
Before making a recommendation, I'd want to know what brand and model discs, and what type of weather and road conditions you plan on riding.
Old 10-26-10, 06:01 AM
tsl
Plays in traffic

Bikes: 1996 Litespeed Classic, 2006 Trek Portland, 2013 Ribble Winter/Audax, 2016 Giant Talon 4

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Originally Posted by ITT
Any advantages or disadvantages with Disc over V brakes?