User Tag List

My Bikes
    2007 Tirreno Razza 2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Bike mechanic school

This thread is to ask if anyone in this group has attended a bicycle mechanic school that is designed to teach a cyclist how to maintain or assemble their own bike. I have learned how to perform several tasks, but not nearly enough to do a credible job of fully maintaining, tuning or assembling a bike.

I would like to hear the experiences of cyclists that have attended something of this type. Is a school worth the cost of money and time? Also, if someone has investigated this type of school and decided not to attend, I would like to know what made you decide against it.
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

My Bikes
    2009 Chris Boedeker custom, 1988 Tommasini Prestige, 2007 Bill Davidson custom, 1985 Univega Gran Turismo; 1988 Specialized Stumpjumper
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I took an 8-hour class at REI about two years ago. It was 8 to noon on a Saturday, and 8 to noon the next day.

I found out later that it was the curriculum of the Park Tool School, using the standard Park Tool curriculum and training materials:

http://www.parktool.com/trade-resour...rk-tool-school

It's my understanding that bike shops all over the country use this material/curriculum for their course.