Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Horrible Hundred just a few days away. (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/695288-horrible-hundred-just-few-days-away.html)

bobthib 11-15-10 07:31 AM

Horrible Hundred just a few days away.

Flat Florida's premier hilly century, the Horrible Hundred, is now under a week away. Centered out of Clermont, FL, there are 35, 70, and 100 mi routes.

http://www.horrible-hundred.com/

While these hills are mere pimples compared to rides out west, for us here in table flat South Fla, the 4k feet of climb represents a pretty big challenge. I've been training in earnest for the past several months, going from 100 - 120 mi a week to 175+, and a careful diet has taken 7 lbs of my butt. I'm hoping to drop a few more lbs before next Sunday.

Our club has about 20 riders going up. We're riding to benefit the Children's Tumor Foundation, an arm of NF Endurance. Anyone interested in supporting this worthwhile charity, you can make a donation on line at:

http://www.active.com/donate/nfhh2010/BThibod3

Hope the weather holds. I don't mind cold, and while I could do without wind, nobody wants rain.

woodway 11-15-10 10:26 AM

Hey 100 miles is 100 miles - not easy for anyone. Good luck!

(Although I will say as a guy who does 2200 feet of climbing on my daily 36 mile RT commute, 4000 feet in 100 miles does not seem overly daunting :) )

Pat 11-15-10 11:57 AM

I have done the ride every year for the past 20 years. I am going this week end. Hope you have a good time. It is a pile of fun. I have been out west and climbed passes. Oddly enough, the hills out there rarely get over 7% for paved roads. Now in North Carolina, Georgia and Michigan, you can get some pretty steep hills. I think Brasstown Bald has a secion that is 28%.

Have a good time.

Yen 11-15-10 12:03 PM

Best wishes for a wonderful ride.