User Tag List

My Bikes
    none (yet)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New member and new to biking

Hi all, I'm new to this complete scene, forums and bikes. I sold my walmart bike that I hated to ride and about to buy a Jamis Allegro 3 and start riding.Being 56 this looks like the place for me to hang out. can't wait to get started. I need some opinions on the gearing of the Jamis. Is 18 speeds enough for Florida or should I go for a bike with more speeds.

My Bikes
    Europa, Hillbrick, Road Chief, Repco Superlite (Ol' Rusty)
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mate, considering that fixed gear (only one gear) and single speed (one gear with a freewheel) bikes are used everywhere, 18 gears is plenty. Just buy the bike you fall in love with, the rest is irrelevant ... but fascinating. If you haven't fallen in love with a bike, DON'T BUY IT and whatever you do, don't buy a bike based on pragmatic reasonning, that always results in a new purchase within the year. Interestingly enough, the 'buy the bike you fall in love with' theory usually results in a bike that ticks all the pragmatic boxes anyway, even if you don't realise it at the time.

Welcome to the forum. The resident old gits will tell you how it works - I'm just a mug aussie who keeps getting it wrong (they only tolerate me because it makes them feel as though their doing their bit for the disadvantaged).

Richard
    I had a good bike ... so I FIXED it

My Bikes
    2011 Felt F3 Ltd, 2010 Trek 2.1, 2009 KHS Flite 220, 1991 Bianchi Osprey
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1 speed is enough for Florida.

Now go out there and ride and send back updates.

My Bikes
    none (yet)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)