User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First road bike

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

First road bike

I started riding about a year ago, bought a hybrid and put about 7000 miles on it. A couple of weeks ago I took the plunge to a road bike. I tested the Specialized, Trex, Carbondale and Giant versions of this but there is some element to the feel and ride of the Bianchi that sets it apart even though I have trouble putting my finger on it.

I have a history of flat tires so this bike didn't leave the shop with the stock tires, it has Contentental Gator Hardshells now.

I'm fairly surprised at how much faster I can push this, both in sprint and average, than I could my hybrid.

When I took this shot, I was nervous about the possibility of the bike wheel flopping to the side, rolling out and the bike falling into the brackish water of the bay. So I had an industrial strength rubber band on the front brake level, an impromptu parking brake.

My Bikes
    Enough bikes for today
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You sound like a keen rider - and this bike looks great as a first road bike - not as stiff as all aluminum, good price point, and great looking and all modern to boot. Smart purchase, I'm sure that I'd be giving this a hard look if/when I decide that my venerable '82 steel bike no longer can do what little I demand of it.
    Three questions - was there a triple chainring as an option and what kine of warrantee comes with the frame?
    And is it my imagination, or does each wheel have four red spokes?
    Meanwhile, I hope you get many miles out of it!
    69 Raleigh Sports, '7 Atala Record, '82 Stan Pike

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sharp bike! Beware of the white grip tape - gets dirty fast!

My Bikes
    Rans Enduro Sport, Hase Kettweisel Tandem, Merin Bear Valley beater bike
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)