Thread: Bike 1 - Bus 0

My Bikes
    Giant Propel, Cervelo P2
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Bike 1 - Bus 0

I cycle to work most days, both for fitness, and to make a car available to my teenage step-daughter, without having to buy one with funds that would otherwise go towards her college studies, which may include med $chool. As I started training for cycling under the direction of a coach, I began having both indoor trainer days, and recovery days, drive to work for either of those. This concept of me actually using my car naturally did not go over so well with the family. After weeks of increasing household tension, the light bulb finally went off in my feeble brain. "I can take the bus! It's a straight shot, with the stop just a couple blocks away! Good for the environment! Good for everyone!"

So, yesterday being a 'recovery day', I took the bus. Neighbors wondered what the heck I was doing.

Getting to work wasn't too bad. 7 minute walk to the bus-stop; 23 minute bus ride; 15 minute walk to the office from the bus-stop. I didn't realize the walk at the work end would be that long, but hey, no big deal. Walking is nice.

Then I took the trip home. Much busier bus. 32 minutes, plus an extra few for the driver to check the engine compartment. Loud crowd. Hot weather. Total transit time almost an hour, and I was more beat up than if I had just peddled home the 8 miles easy-like, which takes only 30 minutes!

The bike kicks public transit's butt for this sort of commute, at least for mine. So I got coach to agree I could ride, even on recovery days, if I go slow and easy.

Anyone need some one-day Phoenix Metro passes?
    "If you're riding less than 18 MPH up a 2% grade please tell people Coggan is coaching you."

Banned
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I ride the bus occasionally... occasions being the weather/surface conditions being too icy/nasty to ride.