Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Thread: Roubaix vs Ruby

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Roubaix vs Ruby

Hi, I've been reading about the Roubaix and it sounds like a great bike. I rode one for a few minutes today at the lbs and I felt too stretched out. I'm 5'5" woman. So, I tried the Ruby, and it felt great, but I didn't really ride either one very long.

The lbs said the Ruby was just the same as the Roubaix except the geometry was built for women. However, comparing the two bikes online, it appears they are different. What are your opinions on this? I'm a noob, so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Galveston County Texas 10 Wheels's Avatar
    My Bikes
    GTO
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are buying a bike, get the one that rides and fits YOU the best.
    [SIZE=1][B]What I like about Texas[/B]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGukLuXzH1E

Set F1re To The Ra1n ( NY Night Rain Ride)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7jfcWEkSrI

My Bikes
    Specialized SL2 Roubaix Comp
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At 5'5" you'd be looking at a 51cm frame ? I'm just under 5'6" and my Roubaix is a 52.

The top tube on the 52cm Roubaix is 537mm Seat tube is 475mm Seat tube angle 74 degrees
    The top tube on the 51cmd Ruby is 515mm Seat tube is 445mm Seat tube angle 75.5 degrees

That probably explains why you feel stretched out. The saddle is totally different as well.
    I couldn't see my wife riding my Roubaix with the Avatar saddle for example. It's way too narrow for her.
    At any age: Always carry a spare.
    After age 50: Always carry a spare and try to get rid of the one around the middle.
    Km for last year: 2,844.02 km
    Km this year: 172 km

2011 Specialized SL2 Roubaix Comp
    2007 Trek 7100

My Bikes
    '79 Gios, '80 Masi, '06 Felt, early '60s Frejus
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)