Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Nobody screams, throws things or harasses me. What am I doing wrong?

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 04-06-11, 09:43 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

The sure-to-be summer-long litany of complaints about drive-by screamers, throwers-of-beer cans and shouters of insults has already begun, and my feelings of inadequacy have flooded back.
I've been riding since college, nearly 40 years. I don't know how many miles, but my top year was 9,000 and even now, in my 60s, I do a couple of thousand miles a season.
One time, ONCE, somebody flipped an empty Coke can at me. Maybe three or four times--call it once per decade--somebody's yelled, "Nice legs" or "Go, Lance!" Nobody's ever "tried to hit me," which we'll read here half a dozen times (if that's as common as we say, how come they're all such lousy shots?). There have been brushbacks, but I'm sure they're due to inattention, not malice (doesn't change the outcome if you get hit, but there's no point in being paranoid if you don't have to be). I've ridden in six or seven states, mostly in the West, so it's not just where I live (Reno's not that good a bike city anyway).
One thing I've noticed over the years is that drivers give me more room and yield right of way more graciously when I'm wearing human clothes, like MB shorts and a T-shirt, than when I'm in my superhero peloton kit. And I don't chop anybody, ride against traffic or zigzag in and out (I know who'll win that crash; I don't have to test it).
I don't know if this story has a moral, but I do have a suggestion: If you're constantly getting scared/threatened/hammered by drivers, maybe some of the problem is you.
Old 04-06-11, 10:43 PM

Bikes: Cannondale CAAD 10, Cannondale Synapse