Advertise on Bikeforums.net

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

prostate ? problems riding

Ok 52 year old male, I have been diag with an enlarged prostste but psa has been normal .99 I have started hybrid biking everyday about 20 miles a day. Any of you guys know if this can/will cause prostate cancer or a rise in my psa ?? I do have some discomfort in the area after several days riding and I have a good seat with the cutout. Also have started to notice some slight erectile problems. Any advise or help is appreciated

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    WARNING: I have no medical background, and if I were in doubt about your problem, I'd take my prostate to a doctor. But I've been riding for years, and talked with several docs about this for stories when I was a newspaper reporter.
    Cycling can raise your PSA, and my experience is that a lot of physicians don't consider that. I think the PSA test is pretty vague anyway--my doc doesn't bother with it for most patients, though he does for me because I'm 66 and my dad died of prostate cancer.
    I think (remember, no medical background) discomfort "in the area" is more likely to be due to pressure either on your taint or on the underlying nerve (pudendal? Can't remember) than to the prostate, which is fairly well protected in there. But that same nerve (or another one in the area; remember, no medical background) can be involved in erectile issues. I mean, I've heard that. Personally, no problems, the Louisville Slugger works fine, but a friend told me...
    From a cycling standpoint (where I do have a background), I've never been comfortable on cutout saddles. I have four Brooks B-17s, which have eased the problem (you know, the problem I don't have?). And saddle setup seems to be critical--a millimeter or two or three up or down on the nose makes a difference.