User Tag List

My Bikes
    2007 Tirreno Razza 2000
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

When do you "drop".

Sometimes I get into a pace line that I have a hard time staying with. It may be faster than I really am capable of riding, or it may be a familiar group at my normal pace, but I simply do not "have it' that particular day.

Anyway, at what point do you say to yourself, " That is it, I am done, I am sliding out of this line and letting them go?"
    I started riding my bike to get healthy. Now I try to stay healthy so I can ride my bike.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BikeArkansas View Post
    at what point do you say to yourself, " That is it, I am done, I am sliding out of this line and letting them go?"
    When you're at the front or the back of the line. Never when you're in the middle!

More to your point: As soon as you know it to be unquestionably and irrevocably true. And no sooner.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would say it depends on my intentions that day. If I'm out for a threshold ride I'll try to hang until my eyes bleed. But if I'm trying to stay in a lower zone, like tempo, then I'll drop off as soon as the pace exceeds that level. Then there are the days when no matter my intentions I'm off the back anyway.
    FS: Shimano DA 7900 brake calipers, DA 7900 Crankset 50/34 175mm and BB

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As soon as it starts going uphill.

My Bikes
    GT Edge Titanium, Mercian Vincitore, Masi Gran Criterium, GT Zaskar, Hercules 3-Speed, KHS Flight Team
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with BikeWNC, it's really a matter of what I had planned for myself that day (which could be thrown out the metaphorical window, of course) but it really comes down to: Is staying in this pace line good for me (for whatever applicable reasons)?